Northwest Fury by MCastro17

This shot was taken at Rialto Beach in Olympic National Park. The day I took this shot we (I had the pleasure to meet Alex Noriega up there) started shooting about two hours before sunset. The tide was coming up quickly and the waves were getting bigger as the sun was setting. At this point I had already taken my exposures for the sky and land, but still wasn’t happy with the water exposures I had since most of them had a lot of water spray, so I kept shooting. After getting hit by a couple of fairly big waves I decided to turn around and get out of there. As I walked towards the beach, I kept looking back over my shoulder to make sure I wouldn’t get hit by surprise and that’s when I saw a much bigger wave coming at me. So, I quickly grabbed my camera, which was still on the tripod and held it above my head, but apparently it wasn’t high enough. Once I made it back to the beach and set the camera down I’ve noticed that the camera was wet but it seemed to be working fine. A couple of minutes later I heard the shutter going off continuously by itself so I turned it off but wasn’t able to turn it back on. When I took the battery out I noticed that it was a little bit wet so right there I knew that the D810 was gone, but fortunately the water didn’t get to my memory cards so I was able to save all the shots. I used two exposures for this photo, one for the sky and one for the water. The water exposure that turned out to be the best without any spray was the very last file on my memory card. Luckily my insurance covered everything so I was able to send the camera in and get a new one. Thanks Alex for the tips on how to process this shot!

As Seen on 500px – May 28, 2015 at 10:12AM

Leave a Reply

